Ellipses…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “By the Dots.”

I can’t really explain why, but I love using ellipses… I may even be using them incorrectly, but they are a perfect punctuation in my life.

For example, last night I texted my daughter asking if she’d be staying out for the night or coming home. She’s 20 so it’s not like she has to check in, but I don’t want to hear her coming in at 2am or something if I’m not aware it’s going to happen because hearing the front door open and shut at that time of the night freaks me out. Anyway, I didn’t get a response, no my next text was “…”  which is basically a Hello, I texted you and you didn’t reply… which she knows is a pet peeve of mine haha. I mean really, with the technology today, there’s no reason at all that my children shouldn’t be able to respond to my text within a 5 minute time span. Especially since I know they always have their phones glued to them at any given time…

Back to the prompt… I think ellipses fill in the blanks and even give the reader something to add to whatever it is that I’m writing. Again, that could be incorrect. It’s like, I know you know what I’m trying to say, so why spell it out with such a long sentence? Yes, sometimes things need to be spelled out, however sometimes it’s good to leave you hanging…. 😉

Leave a Reply

