Third From the Top / Untitled

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Third From the Top.”

So this is an interesting one. The post I got was https://monalysapoet.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/who-everyone-wants/

Third sentence is: You are the brightness amidst the raindrops, the warmth

Here goes:


Untitled

Within the darkness of the storm in my mind, I am searching.

I am searching for something to demonstrate that I have not lost all that I hold dear to my heart.

Like a candle in the distance, you are the brightness amidst the raindrops, the warmth glowing ever so slightly, but just enough for me to find my way. However there is something holding me back.

Past emotions can be powerful and fear can be immobilizing, making the search harder and harder as I try to trudge along

step

by

step.

The flame on that little candle seems to be dimming now and I feel that I am losing the battle to the storm. Giant clouds of memories are overflowing my thoughts, drowning out all hope and happiness.

Maybe it’s just time to close my eyes and let the universe take control.

One thought on “Third From the Top / Untitled

Leave a Reply

