Bring on the Rain

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Singin’ in the Rain.”

I LOVE rainy days and nights!! Love Love Love them. We don’t get enough here in sunny Southern California unfortunately.

When I was little, my mother would let me put on all my rain gear and play outside, jumping in puddles and trying to dodge the raindrops. Needless to say I’d always get soaked, but I had a blast doing it, and she had a grand ‘ol time watching. When my kids were little, I let them do the same thing.. we freaking love the rain.

Our perfect rainy afternoon would consist of the three of us, my children and I, bundling up in our favorite comfy pj’s and fuzzy socks, and playing video games and having a movie marathon all day. Just hanging out with no need to rush off somewhere.

We open the sliding door to our patio so we can hear the rain more directly, and play a game that the three of us can play at once, like Rockband or Nicktoons Unite (just off the top of my head).  We’d take a break for lunch eaten picnic-style on the living room floor or maybe order a pizza. If we get tired of video games, we have board games and art projects and pretty much everything to keep us from being bored.

When it’s time for a movie (or 2 or 3), we snuggle up side by side by side or sometimes all in a bundle on the couch and hunker down to watch. Somewhere in between the 2nd and third movie, someone gets the idea to bake cookies. Back to the couch with Snickerdoodles and peanut butter cookies warm from the oven, we get back to our movies.

We LOVE the rain and even though my girls are 17 & 20 now, we still do all of the above. I always look forward to rainy afternoons.

4 thoughts on “Bring on the Rain

Leave a Reply

