The Artist’s Eye

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Artist’s Eye.”

Immediately when I read this prompt, I thought of two sculptures that I can’t get out of my head. The first is called “Expansion” by Paige Bradley

This piece speaks to my soul because it’s like the fire within her cannot be contained and must burst out into the universe. I feel like that sometimes. Like there is just so much of me that needs to explode so the world can understand that I am here. It looks like she is one with herself and the light just proves it. I believe I haven’t fully “expanded” yet because I still have some doubts of myself, about myself. However, the light still burns with immense heat and one day I will overcome that.

I love it. Below are two links pertaining to this fabulous work of art.

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/riveting-story-behind-that

http://paigebradley.com/sculpture/goddess/expansion/


The second is called “Freedom” by Zenos Frudakis

I mean look at this massive thing! It’s fantastic how he made the sculpture come to life a little bit at a time. You’re rooting for him and once he’s free, he rejoices. And in my heart, so do I. There are many things from which we feel the need for freedom. Need to get out from under something or someone or some type of situation. This man did it, he made it. So why can’t I make it as well? I imagine how he must feel. Exuberant, ecstatic, and I’m sure exhausted because of the journey it took him to get there. It’s just awesome.

Below are two links for him as well:

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/sculpture-breaks-free

http://www.zenosfrudakis.com/freedom-sculpture/

Leave a Reply

