Writing101: Day 9 Writing and not Writing

I’m not a full-time writer. It’s not my profession, I’m not a screenwriter and it’s not something I make money at (unless you count the children’s book I wrote, which surprisingly enough, is doing pretty well). I write because it’s something I like to do when I have time, when I don’t have time, or just when the mood strikes.

In my day-to-day life, I need time to myself. I work a “day job” that has nothing at all to do with what I want to be doing, and nothing to do with my background in art related awesomeness. So usually when I get home after work, I go to my room just to release the stress that those 8 hours have caused me. Even if it’s only 15 minutes or something. Then I can re-join the world refreshed and renewed. I hate that though… I hate that I feel the need to do it. And of course, it’s not every day that I get this chance as I’m a mother so my first duties are to my children. However, since they’re 20 and 17, it’s a pretty easy job. (knock wood)

At this point in time, I wouldn’t re-structure my day to have more time. It’s not the time that’s the issue. It’s other things like depression and stress and trying to turn off my brain while attempting to sleep at night that make it difficult for me to put pen to paper, or turn on the computer to write. To change this aspect or at least the way I view things, I’m considering making a very big change once my youngest graduates high school in June. We’ll see, but fingers crossed, it’ll be a great thing.

5 thoughts on “Writing101: Day 9 Writing and not Writing

Leave a Reply

