Mini Victory

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Victory.”

So my awesome victory was this weekend. It’s a partial because I haven’t finished, but it’s still great! I decided awhile ago to update my townhouse. I’m thinking of selling it, but even if I decide not to, it needs an update desperately.

So the other day I bought a box cutter, gloves, mask, and goggles and I decided to start taking out the carpet in my daughters room. It was much easier than I thought it would be!

Within the long list of things I want to do to update, comes a long list of money to use. There are of course some things that I’ll have to pay someone to do, but there are definitely things I can do on my own. I’m a grown ass woman and I’m sure I can handle some house update DIYs!

Anyway, back to the carpet. We used to have cats, so I’m sure you can understand my readiness to be rid of the carpet. I strapped on my knee pads (from my derby bag), put on the gloves, goggles, and mask and got to work. I learned that parts of the carpet were tacked down and parts of the padding underneath were stapled. I’m not trying to deal with those right now, haha, I just wanted the carpet gone first.

I understand that those masks are great for keeping debris and stuff out of your lungs but damn, they’re hard to breathe in!

Anyway, I did half of her room. There is furniture I have to get rid of or at least move out of the way before I can do it completely, but it’s a damn good start!

Go me πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Mini Victory

  1. I always find a sense of pride in doing home renovations myself. The first I attempted was to help my brother rebuild “my” bedroom in my parent’s house. They ripped all the walls and floors back to the beams! It was very satisfying to be able to contribute to how it all looked in the end! Good luck on the rest of your projects πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

