Inundated With Social Media

Lately I’ve been thinking about how much time I spend on social media. Specifically Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter. Although I don’t tweet much, the other four take up a lot more time in my day than I would like to admit. I even make sure to check everything one more time right before I go to sleep, just in case I missed something important.

I’m at work Monday through Friday 7:30a-4p, and even though I am getting stuff done, I’m constantly checking for updates. Even here on WordPress. (I look forward to the little orange notification circle)

I thought last night, that I’m SO happy social media didn’t exist when I was growing up. Although it would have been great to have more photos of my friends and family posted everywhere to be seen and it would have bee easier for my mom to know where I was with all the “check-ins” going on, I am super grateful that there’s no proof of my shenanigans!

There was one time my best friend and I were bored and decided to take a bus to LA (we’re from the valley). We got off the bus somewhere (we had no idea where we were exactly), and there were two really cute guys walking down the street. We asked them where they were going, and they told us they were headed to a party. We went with them to the party and ended up staying there for 2 days. Drinking, smoking weed, generally having a great fucking time. #tiredofbeingagoodgirl

Did we think about danger? No. Did we care about how our parents felt thinking we were missing? No. *Although we did end up calling them on the second day telling them we’d be home later that night – not that that changes anything* We didn’t think about anything but how fun it would be just to DO something stupid.

So how would that have changed with social media? Well for one thing, people would have known where we were because I’m sure we’d have posted photos and hashtags and added to our snap story with constant updates. Maybe we wouldn’t have done it in the first place…maybe we wouldn’t have gotten very far to begin with because of the gps in our phone that I’m sure my mother would’ve tracked down and come after me or something. Who knows. All I know is that I’m glad my stupidity wasn’t plastered all over the internet. #huzzah

With all that being said, my phone buzzed three times with notifications while I was typing this. Although I ignored them, it’s like my phone is staring at me now. Waiting….

 

 

3 thoughts on “Inundated With Social Media

  1. Ha! I was just thinking the same thing. I was watching this ridiculous reality show where all the girls on it are “insta” famous, and thanking the heavens above that I am not in my teens or twenties right now. All of the stuff we did back in the day is forgotten. We have deniability!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

