An Ode to Sleep

Sleep! My dear, departed friend

I’ve waited for you to help me transcend

But here I lie, eyes open, wide awake

I need your help to make this day end

 

I long for my usual vivid dreams

With random people and colorful schemes

Alas, I can’t experience that if I don’t close my eyes

So I stare at my window and think how sad this must seem

 

I need that sweet rhythm of my Circadian clock

This insomnia is like having writers block

Dear Sleep, my eldest and closest friend

Come back to me I beg you, or I’ll send for Sherlock

 

Please take me away from these dire straits

I am more than ready as dreamland awaits

Eyes growing heavy, looking forward to star gates

As I finally slumber…in the dark, my teddy regulates

 

 



 

Writing101; Day 3 Sleep
Quatrain: A four-line stanza, rhyming:
ABAC,ABCB, AABB, ABAB, ABBA, and AABA.

I did mine in AABA. I’ve never done this one before because I find the rhyming a bit odd. However, I thought I’d try it anyway! Here’s another poet who tried it as well 🙂

Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.”

 

4 thoughts on “An Ode to Sleep

Leave a Reply

