Seconds

I was four, so there’s not a whole lot I remember about that day.

Family gathering…

Excitement…

Road trip…

 

My father behind the wheel, me on my mothers lap in the passenger seat. It was the 70’s after all.

Siblings in the back…

Playing…

Joking…

 

Then out of the blue everything changed. Life moved in slow motion, seconds seeming like minutes.

Tires screeching…

Horns blaring…

Screaming…

 

Everything happened all at once. Two vehicles unattached to the rain-wet, road, doing a dance of horror with all involved.

 

She was unable to hold onto me as we were thrown about. Lifting off her lap, it was as if I were floating throughout the car.

Amidst the debris and chaos and colors…

There were so many colors inside my head…

Our car flipped 7 times…

 

We had to climb out of the rear window of our now upside-down car. Miraculously, everyone inside both vehicles walked away with very minor injuries like cuts and scrapes. I was fine physically.

In shock is what the doctors said…

For two days I was rendered silent…

Unable to speak or cry…

 

My mothers guilt at not being able to hold onto me consumed her. Her tears are what brought me back from the colorful place I had retreated to.

Four year-old me whimpered…

And finally spoke with a raspy little voice…

“I love you Mommy.”

 


Writing101 Day4; “Seconds”

 

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Seconds

      1. I learned the entire story about 3 years ago, from my dad, years after my mom died. She blamed herself, even though there was no reason. I am alive today because of my parents.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi!
    Congratulations on being one of Danny’s featured bloggers. I was one of his featured bloggers too. Maybe you can check out my blog. While there, please join us at my New Years blog party.
    Janice
    PS I know Jacqueline

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

