Public Speaking; Meh…

The idea of public speaking makes me sick to my stomach. It actually makes me want to cry. I don’t really know why this is…it just is. I’ve always been that way, for as long as I can remember, now that I think about it.

Although it turns my stomach and I have to fight back the tears, there have been many times that I’ve had to just suck it up to get the job done. (yay me)

Like when I have to conduct trainings at my job. I do the new hire group training sometimes and also brief specific people on specific jobs they’ll be doing. So that in itself makes me speak in front of at least 10-12 people at a time. I HATE it. I feel like everyone’s staring at me, which of course is exactly what’s happening because I’m the one speaking, but somehow, I keep moving.

When my daughter was a competitive Rhythmic Gymnast and our gym hosted a meet, I was the announcer for crying out loud! Which not only meant I had to use a microphone, it meant that the entire gym, the competitors, coaches, judges, parents and anyone else I missed, was listening to me. AND I had to announce who was on the floor and who was on deck. Now, I don’t know if you’ve ever been to a rhythmic gymnastics event, but the young ladies that compete are coming from all over the place and have all different backgrounds and names. OMG the names! Some of them were Russian, Armenian, Asian, Lithuanian, and more… and I had to pronounce them correctly because goddess forbid I say it wrong so then I’d have a gymnast with hurt feelings, a pissed off parent, an annoyed coach etc etc… So I did my best. I am not, contrary to popular belief, perfect. So yes I made a few mistakes, but all in all, it was cool knowing that everyone was paying very close attention to me. And on top of that, I had fun! And my daughter won first place.. but that’s besides the point. 😉

 

 


 

Naked with Black Socks prompt

 

2 thoughts on “Public Speaking; Meh…

  1. Every couple of years, I get to present at conferences (normally only about 30-40 people, but still…) I am cool as a cucumber from the ankles up. However, the ankles down – sweating like there’s wee sprinkler systems in my shoes. Ew.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

