Here And Now I Stand

HERE AND NOW I STAND.

My black magic edifying to those around me who accept and encourage it,

             and alarmingly unclear to those who don’t.

Their disquietude written on faces and seen in body language so rigid

             their confederate flag waves ever so slightly with each tremble of clenched fists.

Before me, these men, women, and children in white, pointy hats and spidery tattoos shrieking abrasive words all the while trying to make me relinquish my power.

             As if I would do such a thing.

 

HERE AND NOW I STAND.

Behind me and beside me I am joined by others:

             Those with melanin in various tints and tones

             Those with power as strong as my own

             Those whose stories may or may not have been tragic

             Those who are radiant with their own brown and black magic

We have taught, and will continue to teach, our children, and our brother’s and sister’s that we cannot be silent. We will not slip quietly into the background as our humanity is questioned.

 

HERE AND NOW WE STAND.

Leave a Reply

